Back in March of this year I contacted Wrigley to see about their line of products. They make many of the brands of gum, along with Lifesavers, Starbursts, Skittles, and Altoids. I asked them about dairy/casein being present in their products and gluten as well. Here are the responses I got...
Thanks for contacting Wrigley – we always love hearing from our fans and are happy to help!
All of the Wrigley products are going be casein/dairy free and manufactured in a dairy free facility except for our Creme Savers product line. The only Creme Saver flavor being currently produced is the Strawberry and Creme.
Thank you for writing to inquire about ingredients used in Wrigley products.
All U.S. Wrigley products are labeled within strict compliance of applicable laws and FDA regulations, including the Food Allergen Labeling and Consumer Protection Act of 2004. Any materials identified as allergens within this Act (milk, eggs, fish, crustacean shellfish, tree nuts, peanuts, wheat, and soybeans) are labeled within the ingredient line.
The FDA has issued a proposed rule on gluten-free labeling, allowing food products containing less than 20 ppm of gluten (sourced from wheat, rye, barley, oats or cross-bred hybrids), to be considered gluten-free. [Federal Register: January 23, 2007 (Volume 72, Number 14)]
All U.S. Wrigley chewing gum and confection products have been assessed to be gluten-free with the exception of the products listed below, which contain ingredient(s) derived from wheat or are made on shared equipment that also processes products with wheat and may contain trace amounts of gluten.
Accordingly, these products are labeled as containing wheat-derived ingredients:
• Altoids® Smalls® Peppermint Mints (contains wheat maltodextrin which is stated in the ingredient line)
• Lucas® and Skwinkles® Branded Candy Strips (contains wheat flour and wheat fiber which is stated in the ingredient line)
If your sensitivity extends to other types of gluten or if you are extremely sensitive to gluten sourced from wheat, rye, barley, oats or cross-bred hybrids, then you may want to consult with your physician prior to consuming our products.
Thanks again for reaching Wrigley with your comments. We truly appreciate your interest in our Company and brands!
As a matter of fact, the artificial/natural flavors do not contain casein/dairy ingredients in any of our products.
We hope this information has been helpful."
Long story, but our conversation took three email exchanges, because they were really double checking everything to make sure they were giving me accurate information. I am really a fan of this brand, my favorites are the Photon 5 Gum, Starbursts, and Lifesavers. For me I have yet to have an issue, but it is always best to consult with you physician before trying a new product. I hope this information was helpful, because this was one of the best experiences I have had getting information from a company.
Knead No Gluten - Providing reviews, recipes, and more!